Academic Fairs



Dates for Academic Fairs

(***School Fairs need to be held at least 2 weeks before County Fairs to

 insure that there is time to get students’ names in programs. ***)


  • County Literature Fair
    • Wednesday, October 19
    • Make-up Date---Friday, October 21
    • Regional Literature Fair (GSC)---Saturday, November 5


  • County Math Field Day
    • Tuesday, November 15
    • Make-up Date---Thursday, November 17
    • Regional Sr. High Math Field Day (WVU Tech) --- Friday, March 3
    • Regional Jr. High Math Field Day (Flatwoods Days Inn) --- Tuesday, March 14
    • State Math Field Day (WVU) --- Saturday, April 22


  • County Spelling Bee
    • Wednesday, December 7
    • Make-up Date---Friday, December 9
    • Regional Spelling Bee (Capital High School)---Saturday, March 11


  • County Social Studies Fair (All school fairs should be before Winter Break.)
    • Wednesday, January 18
    • 1st make-up date---Friday, January 20
    • 2nd make-up date---Wednesday, January 25
    • 3rd make-up date---Friday, January 27
    • Regional Social Studies Fair (Webster Springs Elementary)---Saturday, March 25
    • State Social Studies Fair (Charleston Civic Center)---Friday, April 21


  • Golden Horseshoe Essay Test (Scheduled by State)
    • Wednesday, February 8


  • Golden Horseshoe Online Test (Scheduled by State)
    • Tuesday, February 28 (Results in April)


  • County Science Fair
    • Wednesday, March 8
    • Make-up date---Wednesday, March 15


  • Youth & Government Seminar---March 20-22


  • Golden Horseshoe Ceremony
    • Friday, May 5